History-telling

RSS Error: https://anchor.fm/533eece0/podcast/rss is invalid XML, likely due to invalid characters. XML error: Attribute without value at line 350, column 66

Over the past two weeks, I have shared stories of historical significance to me. It is important to note that both these stories are in different contexts. This has helped me realise that I have been exposed to different types of history. The first story relates an event that has directly affected me. The second has indirectly influenced me. Yet, both these stories have given me critical perspectives.

I understand that in telling and sharing stories, we are passing on historical information about ourselves. I believe such information contains, among other aspects, cultural insights into ourselves. We are able to document attitudes and values of a particular period, and we are able to immortalize moments. We are able to pass on lessons, or even just narrate a lighthearted story.

Whatever the purpose for sharing these accounts, these pictures are necessary to transfer the messages we want to tell others, whether it be future generations, or even strangers. By telling our stories, we are given an opportunity to shape history. We are allowed the power to add to the discourse, and I suggest we wield it.

Published by shivanalal

Student of Mass Communication at COSTAATT.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started