Are children’s stories only for children?

RSS Error: https://anchor.fm/b7433c/podcast/rss is invalid XML, likely due to invalid characters. XML error: Attribute without value at line 350, column 66

In preparing for the third episode, in which I share the story of the squirrel that helped to build a bridge, I considered how I could extend the reach of the story to an adult audience. I found myself asking the question: Would adults connect to, and appreciate a children’s story? That’s when I had a realisation.

During the building of the bridge, the monkeys and the squirrel help to carry rocks.

Every story has a moral, and that moral is usually a universally-accepted truth. Therein lay my answer. I didn’t have to worry about making a story relatable. I just had to understand the moral, and communicate it appropriately. Children’s stories aren’t only for children. If they were, I don’t think they would continually be told.

In this story, we learn valuable lessons from the squirrel that can help us become better persons. These teachings are not only for children, but a reminder to ourselves. After all, don’t we all seek to become better individuals?

Published by shivanalal

Student of Mass Communication at COSTAATT.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started